A Semi-Biased Review of Children Television Shows

Yesterday my big accomplishment for the day was winning a competition of listing off the most kid shows…with a three year old. Yes, that really happened. But I realized, half those shows are even below a two year old’s intelligent level. There are 100’s of shows dedicated to children on several t.v. stations but how many of them are worth watching? Very few. Here is my Good, Bad, Ugly list of shows for children under 10.

Good:

  • 64 Zoo Lane-good for animal recognition and promotes teamwork
  • Angelina Ballerina encourages kids to dance with Angelina, promotes problem solving
  • The Bernstein Bears- what’s not to love about da Bears? They help kids with firsts (ie doctor’s appts, going to the zoo etc)
  • Sid the Science Kid- early insight into science and having a passion for something
  • Good Night Show- relaxing, soothing and does calm down kids.
  • Sesame Street- as much as I don’t personally like it, the show was taught to teach kids basics like the alphabet, safety, teamwork and sharing.
  • The Wiggles- I really don’t know why I put this on the good list other than it encourages dancing like Angelina Ballerina.
  • Zaboomafoo- my favorite show growing up, it is about animals, animal safety and exploring.
  • Out of the Box- CREATIVITY. period.
  • Dora the Explorer- bilingual interaction and problem solving.
  • Go, Diego Go- offshoot of Dora and offers the same pros
  • Curious George- can’t say anything bad about this show…who doesn’t love an adorable monkey?
  • Mickey Mouse Clubhouse- Disney doesn’t get it wrong with this show. Interactive and age appropriate.

Bad:

  • Thomas and Friends-Love Thomas but the show features a lot of bullies. The little boy I watch picked up on that more than Thomas overcoming obstacles.
  • Barney- While Barney features arts and crafts and playing nice, it is just not what it used to be when I was growing up.
  • Hannah Montana- innuendos, annoying and focus on materialism and fame…need I say more?
  • Victorious- *see comment about Hannah Montana*
  • ICarly- *again…see comment about Hannah Montana*
  • Lazy-Town- It is just creepy. The bad guys spies on the little girl and they don’t accomplish much but running away from him.
  • Max and Ruby-While it shows a brother and sister learning to work out differences and be a team, Ruby is a very bossy older sister.

Ugly

  • Spongebob- I despise this show. It literally kills brain cells. I feel dumber after watching for 5 minutes.
  • Cailou- whiny little 4 year old who is scared about everything. Thank you for teaching kids how to complain and go to mommy about everything.
  • Teletubbies- should be self explanitory…this show sucks. No words, pointless babble and running around.
  • Simpsons- inappropriate for 13 and under
  • South Park- inappropriate for 16 and under
  • Family Guy- inappropriate for 16 and under
  • Boobah-offshoot of Teletubbies that should not have even existed.
  • Yo Gabba Gabba- I can’t get past their shapes…what are they?

Now these are obviously not all of the shows out there. If there is one you are particularly passionate about let me know, I would love to add it to the list. I am not against television, but if children sit in front of it for hours on end, it would be nice if they could at least learn something positive from it. Kids are so easily influenced and I don’t think people have fully caught on to that yet. And while I could go into a long drawn out debate on the increase in violence being in part caused by increasing violent shows and games…I will save that for another day. I will say on a personal note, I was addicted to Rugrats when I was little. My mom noticed I was becoming increasingly bossy and aggressive with my sister. If you watched Rugrats, you know Angelica was the older cousin who bossed the babies around. The consequence? I couldn’t watch it if I was going to mimic Angelica. Case in point, be mindful of what your charges are watching.

🙂

3 thoughts on “A Semi-Biased Review of Children Television Shows

  1. I’ve never seen Max and Ruby but from your description it sounds like it should be on the good list! I’ve had similar thoughts about children’s books. My girls mostly have classic children’s books but some of them do have some rather dubious messages. The worst one is about a little boy who lives on a barge, and one day he jumps off the barge to follow a cat. He gets lost in a forest and then accepts loads of lifts from random strangers. When he finally gets home his parents tell him off and tell him to never do that again because it’s so dangerous. So the next day, he… DOES IT AGAIN! The final line is “I wonder which new friends we’ll make today?”! Not “and then sadly he was murdered by a psychopath” or “and he tripped over a log and broke his leg and no one found him for hours because his parents didn’t know where he was”, but “yes kids, go ahead and disobey, run off into the forest and get into strangers’ cars, it’ll be FUN!”. We had a long chat about why the little boy was very naughty after reading that one.

    • Haha, I just reread it. I had meant to add that Ruby was bossy and rude but totally blanked. (I guess thats what I get for writing this during breakfast hour.. not quite awake yet) And what is that book called?? That is horrible!!

      • I don’t remember what the book is called, I think it’s a French-Canadian book though. Not that that makes the moral any better!

Leave a Reply

